May 24, 2019 Media

Speaker Pelosi to rally Minnesota Democrats at DFL Dinner

DFL Presents Awards to Five Party Leaders at Humphrey-Mondale Dinner

Minneapolis, MN – This evening, Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi will headline the Minnesota DFL’s 8th Annual Humphrey-Mondale Dinner. Pelosi and DFLers will be celebrating past and present leaders within the DFL and commemorating the 75th anniversary of the party.

“The House Democratic Majority in Washington has been hard at work tackling the toughest issues facing our country, just as the DFL has been doing in Minnesota,” said Speaker Pelosi. “Democrats have led the way on everything from job-creating infrastructure investments to lowering the prices of prescription drugs. Republicans have responded with division, obfuscation and theatrics.”

“It is an honor to celebrate our accomplishments, both legislative and electoral, with so many fine Minnesota Democrats,” added Pelosi. “I’m proud of our record of fighting for the American people and I’m confident that record will carry us to victory in 2020.”

“Right now, the DFL is in one of the strongest positions in our party’s storied 75-year history,” said DFL Chairman Ken Martin. “We are offering Minnesotans great schools, fair wages, and affordable health care, while all Republicans are bringing to the table is histrionics and distractions. Voters can see the clear difference in our agendas, which is why the DFL continues to see tremendous energy, engagement, and mobilization.”

“This evening, I’m thrilled to pay tribute to five leaders within the DFL who embody our party’s mission of making life better for Minnesotans everywhere,” added Martin. “Tonight’s award winners have done an amazing job of continuing our party’s proud legacy of building a stronger, fairer, and more just Minnesota.”

DFL Award Winners

Five award winners will be honored throughout the evening for their important contributions to DFL and Minnesota politics. The five awards: Mondale, Humphrey, Wellstone, Freeman & Growe, are named after historic DFL leaders and presented to those who embody their values and do justice to their legacy.

The Hubert H. Humphrey Award for Dedication and Leadership to the Minnesota DFL:

Charlie Nauen – Partner at Lockridge Grindal Nauen P.L.L.P.

Charlie Nauen is the Minnesota DFL’s lead counsel and has over thirty-five years of environmental and business litigation experience in federal and state courts. Charlie was integral in the 2008 Al Franken Senate recount where he represented a group of individual voters in an effort to have their absentee ballots counted. Charlie was also co-lead counsel for Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton in the 2010 gubernatorial election recount. Nauen’s dedication to Minnesota voters and to the assurance that every voter has a say in our democracy has helped make the DFL and the State of Minnesota one of the strongest in the nation.

The Joan and Walter Mondale Award for Public Service:

Patricia Torres Ray – Minnesota State Senator (District 63)

Senator Torres Ray is the first Latina woman elected to the Minnesota State Senate. She is a passionate advocate for education, the environment, and economic development. With over 30 years of public service, Senator Torres Ray has used her time in office to help improve the lives of Minnesota’s working families. She has authored over 250 pieces of legislation and is known for her relentless commitment to the people of Minnesota. Ray’s devotion to the interests and needs of her district has been crucial to improving the lives of Minnesotans across the state.

The Paul D. Wellstone Award for Lifetime Commitment to Organized Labor:

Rose Roach – Executive Director of the Minnesota Nurses Association

Rose Roach is the Executive Director of the Minnesota Nurses Association, a union of more than 20,000 health care professionals working in Minnesota, Wisconsin and Iowa. She came into this position after 25 years of advocacy for the labor movement and healthcare, where she has been a long-time promoter of healthcare as a human right. Roach’s commitment to the cause of the labor movement and universal healthcare has been critical in the fight to improve working conditions for healthcare providers in Minnesota.

The Orville L. Freeman Award for Distinguished Service to Greater Minnesota and Agricultural Issues:

Lori Sellner – Chair of the Brown County DFL

Lori Sellner is the Chair of the Brown County DFL and former Chair of Congressional District 2 DFL and became chair of the CD 1 DFL following congressional redistricting. During her time as Chair, when her district dramatically changed, and Lori was integral to bringing activists and party leaders together to get Tim Walz elected to Congress. She has continuously advocated for DFL candidates in her county and has been crucial in leading the Minnesota DFL party at a local level. Throughout her time in Greater Minnesota, Sellner has always been a staunch advocate for farmers and all rural citizens.

The Joan Growe Award for Distinguished Commitment to Expanding Access to Democracy and Justice in Minnesota:

Elianne Farhat – Executive Director of Take Action Minnesota

Elianne Farhat is the Executive Director of Take Action Minnesota where she has worked on many successful campaigns at a local, state, and national level. She was a key player in Governor Mark Dayton’s campaign, where she helped elect Minnesota’s first DFL governor in more than 20 years. She also serves as Board Co-Chair at Headwaters Foundation for Justice, which advocates for equity and justice within communities. At Take Action Minnesota, Farhat has pushed to pass more progressive policies and has been extremely beneficial in advancing DFL principles throughout the state.