About Us

Our Mission:  The Crow Wing County DFL,  a unit of the Minnesota Democratic Farmer Labor party, provides organization and support for local, state, and national Democratic candidates, and provides a vehicle for participation in the democratic process.

Issues: See our party platform (Ongoing Platform + Action Agenda) for issues that are important to us. A few of these issues are:

  • Equal opportunities for everyone
  • Quality affordable public education
  • Workers right to organize and bargain collectively
  • A clean, safe environment
  • Taxes based on income / ability to pay
  • The right to a secure retirement for everyone
  • A national, single-payer health care system to provide full coverage for ALL citizens

Meetings: The Crow Wing DFL Executive Committee meets on-line the first Thursday of each month 6pm.  This is an open meeting for all area Democrats.   Call (218) 270-8030 for details.

Contributions: The Crow Wing County DFL (Campaign Finance Reg#20271) needs your donations to support our mission and the basic principles of our organization.  Donations can be made on-line HERE or can be sent to our mailing address. The Crow Wing County DFL uses contributions to fund a myriad of activities. Our expenditures support the basic principles outlined in our mission statement. Some of the items we use your contributions for include:

  • Contributions to candidates for use in their campaigns
  • Operating expenses for the Crow Wing County DFL organizing unit
  • Maintenance of an office during election years
  • Mailings
  • Conventions
  • Fair booth
  • Yard signs and other campaign materials

Thank you to those who have donated already.

Volunteer: The Crow Wing County DFL is always in need of your help. There are a number of tasks to be done during each election cycle and we are always interested in hearing from new people. Call or email us for more information.

Contact Information:
Crow Wing County DFL
PO Box 254
Brainerd, MN  56401
Eric Norquist: Webmaster

Executive Committee 2020 – 2022:
Tiffany Stenglein Chair
Tom Besnett Vice Chair
Marcia Ferris Secretary / Communications
Martha Stenglein Treasurer
Kathryn Hegstrom  Outreach & Inclusion
Sally Boos Director
Shannon Crosby Director
Jim Grgurich Director
Julie Hella Director
Tracy Lyons Director
Dale Menk Director
Robert Nesheim Crow Wing County DFL Fair Booth Coordinator
Eric Norquist Technology / Website
Nate Parsons Director
Bruce Peck Director
Gail Rach Director
Martha Rustad Director
Sharron Ryappy Director
Betty Simenstad Fall Dinner Coordinator
Brett Severson Director
Lori Tomberlin Director

Our Endorsed Candidates

Amy Klobuchar
U. S. Senator
Tina Smith
U. S. Senator
Quinn Nystrom
U. S. Representative - Congressional District 8
Steve Samuelson
Minnesota Senator - Senate District 10
Dale Menk
Minnesota Representative - House District 10A
Gaylene Spolarich
Minnesota Representative - House District 10B

News & Media

Get the latest news from our team!

Our Upcoming Events