About Us

Our Mission:  The Congressional District 8 DFL (Campaign Finance Reg# 20253), a unit of the Minnesota Democratic Farmer Labor party, encompasses Aitkin, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Cook, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, St. Louis, and Wadena counties. We are intent on supporting DFL candidates for U.S. Congress and also for U.S. Senate, Minnesota executive offices, and for our state legislative and senate seats.

5th Annual Oberstar Dinner!
Thank you to everyone who helped make this tribute to Jim Oberstar,
Tommy Rukavina and “The 8th“a huge success!

We hope to see you all again next year!

Issues: See our party platform (Ongoing Platform + Action Agenda) for issues that are important to us. A few of these issues are:

  • Equal opportunities for everyone
  • Quality affordable public education
  • Workers right to organize and bargain collectively
  • A clean, safe environment
  • Taxes based on income / ability to pay
  • The right to a secure retirement for everyone
  • A national, single-payer health care system to provide full coverage for ALL citizens

You can make a difference!

Get voting information and register to vote HERE!

Your vote is important!

Communication with the CD8 :  Please fill out the attached form to get notices from CD8 HERE  or go directly to the form at: http://goo.gl/forms/c5q1p8nWFS 

Contributions:  In order to support our mission and the basic principles of our organization, the 8th Congressional District DFL Party (Campaign Finance Reg# 20253) needs your support.  Donations can be sent to our mailing address, or can be made on-line HERE. The 8th Congressional District DFL uses contributions to fund a myriad of activities.
Our expenditures support the basic principles outlined in our mission statement.  Some of the items we use your contributions for include:

  • Contributions to candidates for use in their campaigns
  • Operating expenses for the CD8 DFL organizing unit
  • Mailings
  • Conventions
  • Yard signs and other campaign materials

Thank you to those who have donated already.

Volunteer:  The 8th Congressional District DFL is always in need of your help. There are a number of tasks to be done during each election cycle and we are always interested in hearing from new people. Call or email us for more information.

Contact Information:
8th Congressional District DFL
Emily Nygren, Chair
Tiffany Stenglein, Secretary MN8DFL@gmail.com
PO Box 22
Mountain Iron, MN. 55768
Map of CD8
Eric Norquist:Webmaster

Executive Committee 2018 – 2020:

Emily Nygren Chair
Stephen Samuelson Associate Chair
Tiffany Stenglein Secretary
Tom Cvar Treasurer
Renee Van Nett Outreach & Inclusion


Jeff Anderson Director
Laverne Capan Director
Barb Courneya Director
Curtis DeYoung Director
Johnnie Forrest Director
Christopher Horoshak Director
Glenn Jackson Director
Sean Kehren Director
Jeff Larson Director
Bonita Lokenvitz Director
Cynthia Martin Director
Theresa O’Halloran-Johnson Director
Justin Perpich Director
William Pick Director
Wayne Pulford Director
Linda Redetzke Director
Dan Reed Director
Debra Taylor Director
Scott Yeazle Director

News & Media

Get the latest news from our team!

Our Upcoming Events