Environmental Caucus

DFL Environmental Caucus

April 2017

The DFL Environmental Caucus has Endorsed Candidates for the Minneapolis City Council!

 The Minnesota DFL Environmental Caucus announced its endorsements and support for Minneapolis City Council candidates in wards 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, and 13. The DFL Environmental Caucus, with nearly 400 active members, is one of the largest and most active DFL caucuses.  

In Ward 1, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Jillia Pessenda for Minneapolis City Council. Jillia has expressed strong support for funding to Clean Energy Partnership, so that it can meet the goals of reducing greenhouse gases, for full implementation of the Complete Street program, and for creating green jobs in Minneapolis. 

Voters in Ward 3 have a choice between two great candidates, Steve Fletcher and Cordelia Pierson, each of whom has received a letter of support from the DFL Environmental Caucus. Both Steve and Cordelia have a strong background and knowledge in environmental issues and a demonstrated ability for grassroots organizing. 

In Ward 5, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Jeremiah Ellison for Minneapolis City Council. Jeremiah is a strong advocate for environmental justice and passionately committed to addressing and responding to groups that have been subject to environmental injustice. 

In Ward 6, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Mohamud Noor for Minneapolis City Council. Mohamud has a clear understanding of the challenges facing Ward 6 and their intersection with climate change. 

In Ward 7, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Janne Flisrand for Minneapolis City Council. Janne, a founder of the Minneapolis Bicycle Coalition, has spent two years serving on the Energy Vision Advisory Committee (EVAC) of the Clean Energy Partnership, and is committed to large-scale reduction of Minneapolis’ carbon footprint. 

In Ward 9, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Alondra Cano for Minneapolis City Council. Alondra has demonstrated a passionate commitment and integrity on environmental issues during her first term on the city council. 

In Ward 10, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Lisa Bender for Minneapolis City Council. Lisa has a strong record of voting on environmental issues, including fighting to prevent cuts to funding for the Clean Energy Partnership. 

Voters in Ward 11 have a choice between two great candidates, Jeremy Schroeder and Erica Mauter, each of whom has received a letter of support from the DFL Environmental Caucus. Erica, an engineer, and Jeremy, a lawyer at the Minnesota Housing Partnership, each have a unique skillset that they could bring to the city council. 

In Ward 12, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Andrew Johnson for Minneapolis City Council. Andrew, as chief author of the ban on polystyrene containers, has a strong record of advocacy on environmental issues. 

In Ward 13, the DFL Environmental Caucus has endorsed Adam Faitek for Minneapolis City Council. Adam expressed strong support for the Clean Energy Partnership and fully funding Green Zones. 

The DFL Environmental caucus will issue endorsements in the race for Minneapolis mayor and for Ward 4 City Council in mid-April

The DFL Environmental Caucus would like to screen DFL candidates for the Minneapolis Mayoral and City Council races.

If you are a DFL candidate and would like to be considered for our endorsement please fill out the form by Wed. March 29 at 5 pm. FORM LINK 

Form https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfbU0rlozEX_0Fj1oZJwV1TMViqRhQd_73xbNszpezwQeZ2ZA/viewform?c=0&w=1




Proposed DFLEC Meeting Schedule 2016-2017

Full Caucus Executive Committee
August, 2016
September 10, 2016 September 10, 2016
October 2016*
November 19, 2016 November 19, 2016
December 2016*
January 7, 2017 January 7, 2017
February 2017*
March 4, 2017 March 11, 2017
April 2017*
June 3, 2017 Membership Meeting June 3, 2017

*dates to be emailed for online digital Exec. Committee meetings


DFL Environmental Caucus Leadership

Veda Kanitz of Lakeville – CD2 Chair;  Aaron Klemz of Columbia Heights – CD5, Vice Chair; Karl Forsberg Eagan – CD2, Outreach Officer; Kristin Larsen of Pequaywan – CD8, Secretary; Lawrence Sandoval of Savage – CD2, Treasurer. Executive Committee including Philip Adam-Plymouth CD3, Peggy Clark, Minneapolis – CD5, Heidi Edmonson, Eagan CD2, Allen Frechette  – Shakopee, CD2, Andy Hillebregt, Ramsey – CD6 Ramsey, Paul Hoffinger – Eagan, CD2, Grace Kelly, St.Paul -CD4, Barbara Mahowald-Savage- CD2, Deb Mathiowetz of Eagan CD2, Chris Meyer of Minneapolis CD5, Marcus Mills- Minneapolis – CD5,  Shawn Otto of Marine on St. Croix – CD6, Lorraine Rovig- Northfield – CD2,  Chelsea Skog of Eagan-CD2, John Wells of Eagan – CD2.



 Join the Caucus!

Contact us Dflenvironmentalcaucus@gmail.com
Read Our Constitution :    DFL Environmental Caucus Constitution

Find us on Facebook :  HERE    and HERE  You-Tube :  HERE       Twitter  : @DFLENVIRO