Allan Spear Award

Minnesota State Senator Allan Spear was one of the first openly gay Americans serving in elected office. He was in the Minnesota Senate from 1973 until 2001 and served as the body’s 7th President from 1993 until his retirement in 2001. Spear was instrumental in passing the 1993 Minnesota Human Rights Act, which guaranteed protection from discrimination in education, employment, and housing to GLBT Minnesotans.


In 2001, Stonewall DFL created the Allan Spear Award to honor elected officials, DFL party leaders and activists who gave generously of their time in the fight for LGBTQ equality across Minnesota.

Past Recipients

2018 Scott Graham, Carol Becker, Andrea Jenkins and Phillipe Cunningham

2015 Marge Hoffa and Shivanthi Sathanandan

2014 David DeGrio

2013 Nicque Mabrey and Ken Martin

2012  Betty Tisel

2011 Jefferson Fietek

2010 Andy Hauer

2009 Laurie Crelly and Megan Thomas

2006 Rick Stafford

2005 Allan Hooker and Jill Schwimmer

2002 Tim Bonham

2001 Allan Spear